Wife Upstairs Paperback – November 2, 2021 by Rachel Hawkins

> > SKU: 9781250245502

Paperback

[336 Pages]

PUB:November 02, 2021

$12.00

5 in stock

Compare

Description

Author: Hawkins Rachel

Package Dimensions: 23x208x302

Number Of Pages: 336

Release Date: 02-11-2021

Details: About the Author Rachel Hawkins is the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs and Reckless Girls, as well as multiple books for young readers. Her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama. Product Description Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller“Compulsively readable…a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EWOne of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN• Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online • TimeOut • Woman’s Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello!• Mystery and Suspense January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending? Review “A Southern Gothic twist on Jane Eyre that’s full of suspense, twists and turns…the story of this twisted love triangle will have you on the edge of your seat all the way until the end.” ––CNN“A delightfully surprising and suspenseful twist on Jane Eyre.”––Newsweek”Consider us enthralled.” ––The Skimm“A clever page-turner…this modern Gothic novel proves that creaky houses that harbor big secrets never go out of style.” ––Oprahmag.com“A delicious thriller that you’ll likely want to read in a single sitting.” ––TimeOut”Thesis: Any thriller that has the word “wife” in the title is going to be good. And proof comes courtesy of Hawkins’ modern retelling of Jane Eyre, which is the year’s first irresistible page-turner that will keep you up at night.” ––E! Online”What would have happened if Jane Eyre had not been a naïve innocent with a heart of gold? Grab this page-turner and find out.” ––Vulture“A thrilling, suspenseful tale of will-they-or-won’t-they that will keep you on the edge.” ––Woman’s Day“Read to find out whether either of them can ever escape their secrets, or if their forbidden tryst is doomed to failure.” ––Good Housekeeping”With an even darker twist, this novel delivers a one-of-a-kind take on a well-known gothic tale. In addition to the suspenseful story line, the distorted love triangle and the impassivity of the Thornfield residents will have readers feeling simultaneously discombobulated and fulfilled.”––Library Journal (starred review)”The Wife Upstairs is a thrill ride [and] the pace is hurtling…I felt implicated, dubious, off-kilter as I navigated this elaborate masque of a story.” ––Southe

Reviews (0)

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “Wife Upstairs Paperback – November 2, 2021 by Rachel Hawkins”

There are no reviews yet.

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami