The Insecure Mind of Sergei Kraev Hardcover – August 5, 2021 by Eric Silberstein

> > SKU: 9781737351900

HARDCOVER

[392 pages]

PUB: August 05, 2021

$30.00

5 in stock

Compare

Description

Author: Silberstein Eric

Package Dimensions: 29x215x590

Number Of Pages: 392

Release Date: 05-08-2021

Details: Product Description
For fans of Neal Stephenson, Andy Weir, and Liu Cixin comes a novel reviewers describe as “a great Black Mirror episode” with the “page-turning pacing of Michael Crichton.”

The year is 2100. The lack of trust that characterized the early Internet era is long behind us. Mathematical proof ensures neural implants can’t be hacked, and the Board of Reality Overseers blocks false information from spreading.

When undergraduate Sergei Kraev, who dreams of becoming a professor, is accepted into the Technion’s computer science graduate program, he throws himself into his research project: making it possible for neural implants to transmit information directly to the brain. If he succeeds, he’ll earn a full professorship.

But Sergei falls under the influence of Sunny Kim, the beautiful and charismatic leader of a K-pop dance cult. Sergei believes in Sunny’s good intentions and wants to protect her from critics, leading him to perform a feat of engineering that leaves billions of brains vulnerable to attack.

With the clock ticking towards catastrophe, can Sergei see the truth about Sunny and undo what he’s done?

Weaving together compelling characters and spanning decades and continents,
The Insecure Mind of Sergei Kraev is a classic tale of love, ambition, and self-interest building to a shattering finish.
Review
“An absolutely riveting read—a can’t-put-down look at a world very much like our own, but with all our trends fast-forwarded.” –Drew Hansen, author of
The Dream: Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Speech that Inspired a Nation

“Where do we go from the global disinformation and pandemic of 2020? A history told from multiple voices, an evocative projection of the world we may invent to protect us—and the ways in which humans being human can game any system—this is a fantastic read that I couldn’t put down.” –Cindy Alvarez, author of
Lean Customer Development


The Insecure Mind of Sergei Kraev is a brilliantly inventive book that is hard to put down. Eric Silberstein has imagined a future that somehow makes our present more intelligible. It’s a future that reveals how technological advances threaten our humanity, and yet, at the center of the story is a deep human yearning that gives the book its thumping heart.” –Sam Apple, author of
Ravenous: Otto Warburg, the Nazis, and the Search for the Cancer-Diet Connection


The Insecure Mind of Sergei Kraev is one of the most interesting and well-executed debut novels I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. It is a doomsday story that eschews easy spectacle and empty chaos for a nuanced exploration of how hubris, missed opportunities, and misguided choices can lead to disaster. Silberstein skillfully takes us into the thoughts and emotions of the key players, particularly Sergei, the naïve but well-meaning quantum algorithm expert, and Sunny, the ambitious, self-involved leader of a dance troupe that evolves into a dangerous cult. The final outcome is never in doubt – the book opens with the tragic events of 4/17/2120—but the reader is drawn inexorably forward by the question: how could this possibly have happened?” –Paul McEuen, author of
Spiral

“I’ve read thousands of sci-fi stories, and the thing that stands out for me here is the originality—it doesn’t quickly fall into some typical genre or pay tribute to some other great novel. This made it especially enjoyable…it deserves to be read and enjoyed widely!” –Bryan Gaensler, author of
Extreme Cosmos

“The Insecure Mind of Sergei Kraev is a work of alchemy on par with the very best of science fiction. By merging the promise of technology with the terror of immense power unwisely wielded, it transcends into a work of art that unveils deep, smoldering human truths. Silberstein’s debut novel is an examination of doom and dawn, love and loss, truth and individual expression, but more than that, it is a mandate for transparency.” –William R. Hincy, author of
Without Expiration

Reviews (0)

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “The Insecure Mind of Sergei Kraev Hardcover – August 5, 2021 by Eric Silberstein”

There are no reviews yet.

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami