-$7.05

Shallow Waters: A Novel Hardcover – August 3, 2021 by Anita Kopacz

> > SKU: 198217966X

Hardcover

[224 pages]

PUB :August 03, 2021

$26.00 $18.95

5 in stock

Compare

Description

198217966X

In this stirring and lyrical debut novel–perfect for fans of The Water Dancer and the Legacy of Orïsha series–the Yoruba deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as she discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength in antebellum America.Shallow Waters imagines Yemaya, an Orïsha–a deity in the religion of Africa’s Yoruba people–cast into mid-1800s America. We meet Yemaya as a young woman, still in the care of her mother and not yet fully aware of the spectacular power she possesses to protect herself and those she holds dear.The journey laid out in Shallow Waters sees Yemaya confront the greatest evils of this era; transcend time and place in search of Obatala, a man who sacrifices his own freedom for the chance at hers; and grow into the powerful woman she was destined to become. We travel alongside Yemaya from her native Africa and on to the “New World,” with vivid pictures of life for those left on the outskirts of power in the nascent Americas.Yemaya realizes the fighter within, travels the Underground Railroad in search of the mysterious stranger Obatala, and crosses paths with icons of our history on the road to freedom. Shallow Waters is a nourishing work of ritual storytelling from promising debut author Anita Kopacz.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria/Black Privilege Publishing (August 3, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 224 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 198217966X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1982179663
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 13.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 0.7 x 9 inches

Reviews (0)

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “Shallow Waters: A Novel Hardcover – August 3, 2021 by Anita Kopacz”

There are no reviews yet.

Webdelico LLC

Please like us on Facebook. We will update latest brand new books everyday.


Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami